Today was mainly an in-day, until 3pm, when the sun finally broke (I'm such a brat), and I hit the road, taking a right turn out my door and heading up the hill to 19th, then down to Castro where I turned left to go for my banana cream cheesecake, but alas, they were all out. The waiter this time was even cuter than the last boy, dark and stubbly and maybe of Filipino descent. Lovely. No, I didn't ask to take his picture, instead just had a quick late lunch - this avacado veggie hoagie thing, whilst seated the whole time next to this character:
Whose name was Belvedere. I commented to the guy about the plethora of dogs, and dog shops in the neighborhood, and said I was surprised, as I would have figured most landlords wouldn't allow it, and he replied that it was that way in the rest of the city, "but Castro's different."
*
Afterwards I decided to turn around and head south straight up Castro, and I do mean up, passing sidewalk signs such as this:
They are definitely happy about this, here.
I walked to the very top of the street to 22nd in what I guess is technically Noe Valley (pronounced, "No-ee") - and let me tell you, these hills are steep motherfuckers - though the ironically named Hill Street itself is actually mostly flat, but anyway, jesus these fucking houses are killing me.
Just, wholesale murder. I keep using the term 'crazy beautiful' in this blog, and as soon as San Francisco stops showing me two dozen things a day that fit that description, I'll quit fucking repeating myself.
Here are some additional shots I took up there, showing the views and interesting street signs:
The above sign says:
Steep Grade Ahead
Trucks Not Advised
So after, I walked back down Castro to the main square up by Market - it was around 5pm by this time so there was tons of people traffic - and sat down on the red metal chairs that are always scattered about by the streetcar turnaround ...
... which I just found out is called Pink Triangle Square, and just people and pigeon watched for like a half hour in the sun. I so totally didn't wanna leave.
That's the tip of my foot, there. Feel bad for my poor Merrill shoes, which are taking a freaking beating. Also, for my right knee. At one point when traversing, and de-versing the hills tonite - walking downhill for some reason is always more taxing on the joints - it began to complain, and I had a momentary freakout, thinking, my god, I'm putting all kinds of extra stressors on these knees, and what if one of them gives out in the middle of my trip? I need them for the next 5 days, and then for the 13 days afterwards, walking around Seattle. But alas, it was just a scare.
*
Okay, so afterwards, I headed to my grocery store Mollie Stone's to get some water and a few things, and at the register, the guy ahead of me, who was cute, maybe 40, bearded, and muscular, had left behind on the back edge of the conveyer belt what I thought belonged to him - some bag of garlic chips, or something. I picked it up and asked if it was his, and he said no, so I handed it to the cashier. A cute gay guy then moved up behind me in line and commented how much he loved garlic chips, he was crazy about them, but they made him "break out". The guy ahead of me then responded, nodding his head, saying he loved them too, but they were so fattening. He said this while stuffing the apples he's just bought into his backpack.
Meanwhile here I was between them, among other things, literally buying this:










No comments:
Post a Comment